Hatha Yoga


This class is taught by:

Derek Elliott

Derek was prodded into attending his first Yoga class by his daughters. He completed his initial Yoga training with John Scott, and subsequently trained at Triyoga in London with Anna Ashby, Joey Mile and Jean Hall. Derek has trained in Restorative Yoga, and he is a Kirtan singer, having trained with Nikki Slade. He is a meditation teacher and works as a practitioner for people suffering from insomnia.

Derek teaches Restorative and Hatha Yoga.

 
YogaVenue’s Hatha Yoga classes offer a gentler, usually slower-paced style of practice. They include none or few of the Sun Salutations which are a feature of Vinyasa classes.
Hatha Yoga is a very broad term referring to the physical practice of Yoga asanas (postures) and the style and particular focus of the class may vary. Hatha Yoga classes provide an opportunity to stretch, unwind, and release tension, offering a good counterpoint to both busy lifestyles and cardio workouts. In Hatha Yoga we bring awareness to our mind, body and breath as we explore ways of creating balance and uniting opposites. In our physical bodies we develop a balance of strength and flexibility. We also learn to balance our effort and surrender in each pose. You may leave class feeling longer, looser, and more relaxed. Expect downward facing dogs, warrior poses, gentle twists, backbends and forward bends.

This class is perfect if you are new to Yoga or returning after a break, as well as if you have a regular Yoga practice. The teacher will offer alternative, gentler modifications where needed.

Hatha classes are 75 or 60 minutes long. All ability levels welcome. Classes are held at room temperature. Music is played in these classes.


Upcoming classes:

  • Sat 12 Jan 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 19 Jan 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 26 Jan 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 02 Feb 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 09 Feb 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 16 Feb 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 23 Feb 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 02 Mar 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 09 Mar 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 16 Mar 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 23 Mar 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 30 Mar 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 06 Apr 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott
  • Sat 13 Apr 11:30 am - 12:45 pm with Derek Elliott


© Copyright 2014 YogaVenue  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Website Usage Terms